Looking for a teacher?

It has never been easier to learn about any topic that interests you. There’s a wealth of information from incredible sources, including the nation’s top scholars and universities, available to anyone for free.

The list below represents a sample of knowledge available from these sources and can be used to enrich your learning, your curriculum, or provide both enrichment and remediation for students. Many of these places offer audio and video podcasts in addition to text.

If you would like help integrating any of these resources in your curriculum, picking the best sources that match up to your learners, or finding something that might help or challenge a student, don’t hesitate to contact a technology integration specialist.

Happy learning!

Schools and Universities:

MIT Lectures – http://ocw.mit.edu/courses/
Carnegie Mellon – http://oli.web.cmu.edu/openlearning/
Columbia – http://itunes.columbia.edu/
Tufts – http://ocw.tufts.edu/
RiceConnexions – http://cnx.org/
Utah State – http://ocw.usu.edu/
Boston College – http://frontrow.bc.edu/programs/
Berkeley – http://webcast.berkeley.edu/courses.php
Berkeley Part 2 – http://education.jimmyr.com/
Berkeley Part 3 (videos) – http://www.youtube.com/user/UCBerkeley
Michigan – http://open.umich.edu/
Notre Dame – http://ocw.nd.edu/
Princeton – http://hulk03.princeton.edu:8080/WebMedia/lectures/
Princeton Part 2 – http://alumni.princeton.edu/learntravel/alumnistudies/
Stanford – http://itunes.stanford.edu/
Stanford Part 2 (videos) – http://www.youtube.com/stanford
Harvard – http://www.extension.harvard.edu/courses/
University of Sydney – http://www.usyd.edu.au/podcasts/2006/index.shtml
University of Virginia – http://www.virginia.edu/uvapodcast/
Stanford – http://see.stanford.edu/see/courses.aspx
Yale – http://oyc.yale.edu/
Yale Part 2 (videos) – http://www.youtube.com/yalecourses
UC Irvine – http://ocw.uci.edu/
University of Chicago – http://mindonline.uchicago.edu/
University of New South Wales – http://www.youtube.com/user/UNSWelearning

Subject Specific Universities:
Cornell/Quantum Physics – http://bethe.cornell.edu/
Duke University/Law – http://www.law.duke.edu/cspd/lectures/
Johns Hopkins/Public Health – http://ocw.jhsph.edu/
University of Washington/Computer Science – http://www.cs.washington.edu/education/course-webs.html
Indiana Purdue (IUPUI)/Computer Science – http://wally.cs.iupui.edu/wallyindex.html
Harvard/Medicine – http://mycourses.med.harvard.edu/public/
Oxford/Mathematics – http://www.maths.ox.ac.uk/opencourseware/

Other General Sites:
Open Course Ware Finder – http://www.ocwfinder.org/
Open Course Ware Consortium – http://www.ocwconsortium.org/
University of the People – http://www.uopeople.org/
Academic Earth – http://www.academicearth.com
Wikiversity – http://en.wikiversity.org/wiki/Wikiversity:Main_Page
Youtube Edu – http://www.youtube.com/education?b=400
100 Best Intro Courses – http://www.bestcollegesonline.com/blog/2010/05/12/100-intro-open-courses-on-everything-youve-ever-wanted-to-learn/
Khan Academy – http://www.khanacademy.org/
Open Culture – http://www.openculture.com/
FORA.tv – http://www.fora.tv/
TED – http://www.ted.com/
Cosmo Learning – http://www.cosmolearning.com/
Knol – http://knol.google.com/k
Academic Earth – http://academicearth.org/
Free Video Lectures – http://freevideolectures.com/
More Video Lectures – http://videolectures.net/
Directory of Open Access Journals – http://www.doaj.org/
Learners TV – http://www.learnerstv.com/
IncrediCampus – http://www.incredicampus.com/
LectureFox – http://lecturefox.com/
Freelance-Teacher – http://www.freelance-teacher.com/videos.htm
National Programme on Tech Enhanced Learning – http://www.nptel.iitm.ac.in/
Study Blue – http://studyblue.com/#Start
WikiHow – http://www.wikihow.com/Main-Page
How Stuff Works – http://www.howstuffworks.com/
Wonder How To – http://www.wonderhowto.com/categories/
Better Explained – http://betterexplained.com/
TeachMate – http://teachmate.org/
Learning Schedule Tracker
Smart.fm – http://smart.fm/

Specialized Sites:

Computer Related:
Carl H Programming – http://www.highercomputingforeveryone.com/
Google Code – http://code.google.com/edu/
Learn about LinuxUniversity – http://www.reddit.com/r/Ubuntu/comments/bbnkp/ive_tinkered_in_ubuntu_before_but_its_the_primary/c0lzpwk
Free Technology Academy – http://ftacademy.org/
Lynda.com – http://www.lynda.com/
Web Building Tutorials – http://www.w3schools.com/
Building Websites via Academic Earth – http://academicearth.org/courses/building-dynamic-websites
Opera Web Standards Curriculum – http://www.opera.com/company/education/curriculum/
Stack Overflow (Question Site) – http://stackoverflow.com/
D Zone (Question Site) – http://www.dzone.com/links/index.html

Music:
Funk University – http://www.thefunkuniversity.com/
Piano Lessons – http://www.howtoplaypiano.ca/
Music Theory – Trainear.com – http://www.trainear.com/
Music Theory – MusicTheory.net – http://www.musictheory.net/
Guitar Lessons at Ultimate-Guitar – http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/lessons/
Guitar Lessons at The Stringery – http://www.thestringery.com/
Guitar Lessons at The Next Level Guitar – http://www.nextlevelguitar.com/
Guitar Lessons at Justin Guitar – http://www.justinguitar.com/
Bass Lessons – http://playbassnow.com/
Chord Book – Chordbook.com – http://www.chordbook.com/guitarchords.php
Chord Book – Chorder.com – http://www.chorder.com/guitar-chords/
Guitar Neck Quiz – http://johanneshoff.com/guitarneck/

Language:
LiveMocha – http://www.livemocha.com/
Languages from BBC – http://www.bbc.co.uk/languages/
FSI Language Courses – http://fsi-language-courses.org/Content.php

Cooking/Food:
Good Eats – http://www.goodeatsfanpage.com/GEFP/index.htm
alternate video source – http://www.veoh.com/search/videos/q/publisher:LikeTheHat
Cooking Coarse (Youtube Search Summary) – http://www.youtube.com/results?search_type=&search_query=cooking+coarse&aq=f
Henry’s Kitchen – http://www.youtube.com/user/henlips

eBooks/Online Books/Academic Journals:
Project Gutenburg – http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page
Planet eBook – http://www.planetebook.com/about.asp
The Free Library – http://www.thefreelibrary.com/
Google Books – http://books.google.com/
Open Book Project – http://openbookproject.net/
WikiBooks – http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Main_Page
Safari Books Online(paid subscription needed) – http://www.safaribooksonline.com/Corporate/Index/
Using Open Edu Resources – eBook (.pdf) – http://works.bepress.com/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1003&context=anne_arendt
How to Think Like a Computer Scientist – eBook – http://openbookproject.net/thinkcs/python/english2e/index.html
Large list of science eBooks – http://asterix.msp.univie.ac.at/
Scribd – http://www.scribd.com/
WorldCat – Worldwide Library Catalog – http://www.worldcat.org/
Cite Seer – http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/
Scirus – http://www.scirus.com/
Get Cited – http://www.getcited.org/
Online Library – ibiblio – http://www.ibiblio.org/index.php

Other Subjects:
Psychology – http://changingminds.org/
Creativity – http://creatingminds.org/
The Math Motherload – http://www.reddit.com/r/math/comments/bqbex/lets_list_all_the_useful_free_online_math/
Western Civilization – http://www.learner.org/resources/series58.html
Psychoactives – http://www.erowid.com
Philosophy – http://www.philosophybites.com/
Make Magazine – http://www.makezine.com/
Self Improvement – 101 Linked Resources – http://www.pickthebrain.com/blog/101-self-improvement-resources/
Custom Action Figures – http://www.figurerealm.com/customtutorial.php
Exercise – http://askthetrainer.com/
Yoga – http://www.aypsite.com/
Raising Chickens – http://www.backyardchickens.com/
Argument Mapping – http://austhink.com/reason/tutorials/
Investing – http://www.investopedia.com/
Instructables – http://www.instructables.com/
Physics for Future Presidents – http://muller.lbl.gov/teaching/physics10/pffp.html
Creative Live – http://creativelive.com/
Let’s Make Robots – http://letsmakerobots.com/
Almanac – http://www.infoplease.com/