The Tatanka Yearbook and were awarded All-State Gold honors and The Hoofprint took All-State Silver at the Minnesota High School Press Association (MHSPA) Convention held at the University of Minnesota on October 20. Along with the publication honors, many individuals took home awards for their work with Buffalo High School Publications.

The Tatanka and Hoofprint took 3rd in the Best in Show competition, while was awarded First Place in the Web Site general excellence and earned Best in Show honors at the convention.

The yearbook writers swept all the yearbook writing award categories. Monica Shoberg won First Place in the yearbook feature copy category. Sophie Jundt won First Place in yearbook sports copy. Minnie Ostvig took second and Tom Polzine and Jake Dooley shared the honor for First Place in best academic copy for the yearbook. In the yearbook design category, Dani Krolak took second place. Matt Ebeling won 3rd in yearbook sports photo, and Joel Morehouse took second place.

Matt Ebeling took first place in Magazine Design.

For the newspaper individual awards, Miranda Cole took Third Place in center spread design. Joel Morehouse and Brad Palmer took third in page one design. Dan Hanson took honorable mention for newspaper sports photography.

The awards were for work on the 2009 Tatanka yearbook, Origin, and the Hoofprint newspaper and website from 2008-2009.

All newspapers, yearbook and websites in Minnesota are invited to participate in the competition.

One Thought on “Tatanka, Hoofprint, and take All-State Honors”

Comments are closed.