The 2018 BHS Yearbook was named the best yearbook in Minnesota.

The 2018 Tatanka yearbook continued its winning streak, following up its national All American award by being named the Best Yearbook in Minnesota for the seventh consecutive year. The yearbook won All-State Gold and First Place Best of Show along with winning First Place in General Excellence at the Minnesota High School Press Association Convention at the University of Minnesota on October 9. The Tatanka’s All-State Gold streak has spanned 13 years.

The Hoofprint and its online site,, each took All-State Gold Honors, which is the highest ranking award possible at the state level. The Hoofprint won Second Place for news magazines in the Best of School competition. Buffalo High School was the only school to earn All-State Gold awards in each area of student media.

Thirteen yearbook students earned Minnesota Gold Medallion awards. Laura Broadwater was honored three times for her work. According to Minnesota High School Press Association Associate Director Gary Lundgren, the competition for awards was at its highest level in years with the greatest level of submissions. Noah Raisanen, Eric Braun, Grace Moran, Carly Strom, Bailey Braccini, Alyssa Romportl, Lilly Ragab, Ella Hanson, Carter Barton, and Hanna Van Den Einde also received individual recognition with Gold Medallion Awards.

Brad Palmer is the adviser of The Hoofprint and Ryan McCallum advises the Tatanka and Last year, Lindsey Kauffman and Hannah Park were the Editors-in-Chief of the Tatanka. Ella Shuherk and Jack Oistad were the Editors-in-Chief of The Hoofprint.

Grace Moran and Carly Strom won First Place Student Life Copy
Erica O’Borsky won Third Place in Student Life Copy
Bailey Braccini and Laura Broadwater won First Place Yearbook Spread Design
The Tatanka Staff took First Place in Theme and Concept Package
Eric Braun won both Fifth Place and Third Place in Student Life Photo
Laura Broadwater won First Place in Sports Copy
Laura Broadwater and Alyssa Romportl won Second Place in Sports Copy
Noah Raisanen won First Place for Academic/Club Photo
Jayna Sigurdson won Third Place for Academic/Club Photo
Ella Hanson and Lilly Ragab won Second Place in Yearbook Academic/Club Copy
Carter Barton and Hanna Van Den Einde won Third Place in Yearbook Academic/Club Copy